



# **Media Release**

Wednesday 27 March 2024



## **Cassowary Coast Welcomes New Council and First Female Mayor**

Cassowary Coast Regional Council welcomed the region's first female Mayor Teresa Millwood and nominated its Deputy Mayor Nicholas Pervan at this morning's post-election meeting held in Innisfail.

Alongside the declaration of office for Mayor Millwood were new Councillors Peter Reed (Division 1) and Ellen Jessop (Division 2), as well as returning Councillors Trudy Tschui (Division 3), Nicholas Pervan (Division 4), Jeff Baines (Division 5) and Renee McLeod (Division 6).

Mayor Millwood congratulated her fellow Councillors on their appointments and said she's looking forward to working with Council to deliver priorities for the community.

"We need to get back to essential services and provide value for money so that our community is satisfied that they're receiving the services they're paying for," Mayor Millwood said.

"I'm committed to providing honest and reliable representation for the Cassowary Coast and will be available to anyone who wants to discuss their ideas and aspirations for our future."

Mayor Millwood also expressed her commitment to working collaboratively with her colleagues to see the collective vision come to fruition in this term of Council.

"A good leader can listen and understand, but a successful leader needs the support of their team and constituents who are willing to listen, and willing to accept change."

At today's meeting, Council adopted the 2024-2028 list of Councillor representation and portfolios and appointed Councillors to various external bodies.

#### Portfolios included:

Advocacy – Mayor Cr. T Millwood
Development, Planning and Environment – Cr. J Baines
Economic Development and Tourism – Cr. R McLeod
Water and Wastewater – Cr. P Reed
Community, Culture and Liveability – Cr. T Tschui
Infrastructure Services – Cr. N Pervan
Waste and Resource Recovery – Cr. E Jessop

## List of Councillor external representations 2024-2028

Australian Sugar Industry Museum Board – Cr. R McLeod
Cairns & Hinterland Health Service Community Advisory Group – Cassowary Coast Hub
Community Consultation Committee – Cr. T Tschui
Cassowary Cost River Improvement Trust – Cr. J Baines
District Disaster Management Group – Mayor Cr. T Millwood
FNQ Regional Organisation of Councils – Mayor Cr. T Millwood

Media contact 0417 721 754 | comms@ccrc.gld.gov.au

Doc Set ID: 3437728

Tully Support Centre Inc – Cr. T Tschui

FNQ Regional Roads Group - Mayor Cr. T Millwood Hinchinbrook - Cassowary Coast Local Marine Advisory Committee - Cr. J Baines Johnstone River Catchment Management Association – Cr. N Pervan Local Authority Waste Management Authority (LAWMAC) – Cr. E Jessop Mourilyan Port Advisory Group - Cr. R McLeod Natural Asset Management Advisory Committee (NAMAC) - Cr. J Baines Reef Guardian Council Steering Committee – Cr. J Baines Tropical Art Deco Society - Cr. T Tschui Tully Multi-Purpose Centre Management Committee – Mayor Cr. T Millwood Tully Police and Community Consultative Committee – Cr. E Jessop

Cassowary

### List of Councillor Internal representations 2024-2028

Cassowary Coast Traffic Advisory Committee - Cr. N Pervan CCRC Audit Committee – Mayor Cr. T Millwood and Cr. J Baines CCRC Australia Day Committee - Mayor Cr. T Millwood Cassowary Coast Community Sector Alliance - Cr. R McLeod Community Grants Selection Panel – [portfolio holder] Economic Development Advisory Committee – Cr. R McLeod Local Disaster Management Group - Mayor Cr. T Millwood and Cr. N Pervan Regional Arts Development Fund (RADF) Committee – Cr. T Tschui Youth Advisory Committee – Cr. T Tschui

For further information Council 1300 763 contact 903 at email enquiries@cassowarycoast.qld.gov.au.



Photo credit: New Cassowary Coast councillors, Ellen Jessop, Jeff Baines, Nick Pervan, Peter Reed, Teresa Millwood, Trudy Tschui, Renee McLeod